My Budapest (36): Budapest Pride – July 2013 (18th) edition

[Don’t forget: click on each photo to enlarge it! Then click again to enlarge it even more!]

[Update (7 July 2014): Check the 2014 edition!]

If it’s the first week of July, then it’s Budapest Pride week! I don’t know about other years, but this time last week was full of workshops, art exhibitions, NGO meetings and so on (see the bilingual program – both Hungarian and English – here). The whole event  was wonderfully organized – well, except – as usually – the Parade (which took place yesterday, July 6). It had probably the biggest attendance ever (organizers said there were 8000 people, I would go to maximum 5000) and probably the majority of participants were NOT from the LGBT community, but they simply wanted to show their support and to defend simple human rights. That being said, I still do not understand why the organizers cannot display the seriousness of all these legitimate demands, and prefer to transform all this protest in some sort of show. But let us start with the best thing of this march – the wonderful, big flag of the LGBT community:

Budapest gay pride 2013-1

Budapest gay pride 2013-2

Budapest gay pride 2013-3

Below there’s an interesting image (thank you C. for making me pay attention!). It says: ‘Fagot list’. According to a friend (see the comment below) ‘Köcsög means vase in Hungarian, it just also became the pejorative word for homosexuals, for some reason’. Now we understand what the woman in that bowl is trying to say.Budapest gay pride 2013-4

And now, let’s go to the freak show. If I am probably able to get the message of the first photo below (marriage rights for gay persons), I really don’t understand what the woman in the second photo below is trying to say.

Budapest gay pride 2013-5

Budapest gay pride 2013-6

In the photo below, the purse (the Rubik’s cube – its inventor is an Hungarian) seems funny:

Budapest gay pride 2013-7

Below, it’s a music band of strange guys (from an international university based in down-town Budapest) which can be seen in almost any demonstration – or at least I did (well, probably except Jobbik demonstrations).Budapest gay pride 2013-8

Well, so could you have a normal Gay Parade without them? Of course not. I strongly believe the persons in the two photos below simply make fun of the whole transsexual community. These displays, instead of drawing attention to a problem of rights, induce the public (and governments) to believe that all transgenders look like that – funny weird people with no serious claims. I think it’s sad.

Budapest gay pride 2013-9

Budapest gay pride 2013-15

In the three pictures below, two pretty drunk guys were very happy to show the photographers their skills – in self-mocking or presenting their genitals:Budapest gay pride 2013-10

Budapest gay pride 2013-11

Budapest gay pride 2013-13

Don’t know whether the  girls below (watching the Parade from behind a fenced garden) had something to do with the Parade:

Budapest gay pride 2013-16

Budapest gay pride 2013-10

And let’s talk now about the weirdness of the far-right. Just a note: I was a bit surprised to see press reports according to which there were around 300 extremists engaged in a counter-demonstration. Well, this is ABSOLUTELY WRONG. Below in the first three photos, you can see that each street that intersected the Andrássy Avenue was blocked by the police, and beyond the fences there were a few extremist people: not Jobbik – or the Hungarian Guard’s – members, just some (probably) hooligans (trained in soccer matches) that were protesting (first photo below: this guy has a tattoo: ‘Ferencváros’ – which is the name of the Budapest’s ninth district which has a soccer team named Ferencvárosi TC).  In the fourth photo below, you can see a part of the real extremists – members of the New Hungarian Guard, dressed in their stupid uniforms. But this is the real thing: immediately after the Parade passed off, they started to run away. I was curios, I wanted to know what are they going to do, so I run together with them. Well, they just bypassed the Cathedral, tried to find another street that intersected Bajcsy-Zsilinszky, and then started again to howl against the Pride group (and this strategy continued for tens of minutes – or streets). So yes, I would ask Hungarian journalists to be more interested in and to pay more attention to what is happening: if we add both hooligans and the real extremists, I wouldn’t say there were more than 70-100 persons following the whole event. The fact that they were changing places didn’t make their group bigger. Jeez!

Budapest gay pride 2013-17

The anti-gay protesters are shouting the usual ‘mocskos buzik’ (translation: ‘dirty faggots’, or ‘filthy fags’, or ‘fucking faggots’):Budapest gay pride 2013-18

Budapest gay pride 2013-20Finally, I have selected some portraits that may be interesting. The first one shows a girl wearing an interesting T-shirt displaying a group of nuns; below it is written: ‘All the Single Ladies’. The second photo shows one of the three transgenders I have already talked about above, but this particular picture draw my attention since s/he seems so sad (well, it may be only my impression). Finally, a Jobbik-Emo member (quite an interesting and strange combination!)

DSC_9528 (Copy)

DSC_9539 (Copy)

DSC_9658 (Copy)[Finally, some disclaimer. I have NOT participated to the Gay Parade as a supporter of the LGBT rights. I do believe that the LGBT community has a specific political agenda that tries to defend some rights for a FEW specific sexual minorities, but not for all of them – for example not for polygamists. Yes, I know polygamy is traditionally associated with oppressing women  – but this is not an argument against an actual, modern definition of a legal term in the private law. And this is not only my opinion – read The Economist‘s article Polygamy Now! – which also explains why the LGBT community separated itself from the advocates of ‘more exotic marital arrangements’. So yes – until all sexual minorities are supported (well, excluding the paedophiles & co.) I cannot be a supporter of the Pride Festival. I was there only as an amateur photographer! Not as a supporter.]

7 thoughts on “My Budapest (36): Budapest Pride – July 2013 (18th) edition

  1. I promised myself I never would again, but here it goes;
    1. The parade was not the gay parade, as you call it, but of the lesbian, gay, transgender, bisexual, queer organization.
    2. You are actually creating the problem that you blame on the organizers. You chose to show only pictures of the so-called “freaks”, just as every other reporter or media sensationalist. You yourself write the majority were “normal” people, whatever that means…so why didn’t you show them here? Not to mention the disturbing fact that you seem to consider yourself the expert on who is a freak and who is normal, or what a “normal gay parade” should look like.
    3. Poligamy is not a sexual orientation, but an old institution currently not favored by the majority of legal systems. Being bisexual or queer has nothing to do or being married or single or married to 5 people. Demanding marriage or legal union rights is one of the demands of the LGBTQ community.

  2. And here are the quick answers:
    1) I am using ‘Gay parade’ and ‘LGBT parade’ interchangeably. Everyone is doing this, I see no problem here. Example: http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/06/30/san-francisco-gay-pride-parade-gay-marriage/2473379/
    2) I did not show only pictures with ‘freaks’. Look at the first three pictures, for example. I see no ‘freaks’ there. I do think I was well balanced in my photo & written report. Also I have never said the majority was made out of ‘normal’ people: there is only one time the word ‘normal’ appears in my report: ‘Well, so could you have a normal Gay Parade without some very serious weirdos?’ A normal Gay Parade is one thing, talking about ‘normal people’ is quite different. Please read carefully if you really want to disagree.
    3) Polygamy is (I am quoting you) ‘an old institution currently not favored by the majority of legal systems’. Well, that is the problem🙂 But if you still want to argue on this, try The Economist’s comments section, I am not that important (I just supported the view advanced by that article).

    • I forgot to explain the vase. Köcsög means vase in Hungarian, it just also became the pejorative word for homosexuals, for some reason. Feel free to call the parade whatever and take The Economist as an argument. You complained about freaks, I saw no freaks in any of your pictures. But hey, you are the expert.

  3. Thanks for the explanation, I will introduce it in the report. I’m not an expert on anything (really!), I am subjective, just as anyone else, including you🙂 Regarding the Pride, I support the whole concept, but I find things that I believe are not that good… You may find everything ok… But I do think difference in opinions is a good thing, just as critiques are making everyone better…

  4. Pingback: My Budapest (42): The gay parade – July 2014 | Andrei Stavilă's Photography

  5. Pingback: My Budapest (42): Budapest Pride – July 2014 edition | Andrei Stavilă's Photography

  6. Pingback: My Prague (14): Prague Pride, August 2016 | Andrei Stavilă's Photography

Leave a Reply

